Eden Prairie

High school senior is Presidential Scholar

Eden Prairie High School senior Amy Tan has been selected as a Presidential Scholar, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.

In April, the Commission on Presidential Scholars makes the final selection of students. One young man and one young woman are chosen from each state, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and from families of U.S. citizens living abroad. In addition, up to 15 students are chosen at large.


Senior is honored for diplomacy work

Hopkins High School senior Adam Tarshish is one of 21 local students to receive the 2014 Rose Rees Award. Sponsored by the National Council of Jewish Women’s Greater Minneapolis Section, the award is given to students who have demonstrated a commitment to international relations and world peace.

The award commemorates Rose Rees, who died in 1935 while serving as president of the NCJW-Greater Minneapolis Section. Rees made world peace a guiding principle of the NCJW, and founded the World Affairs Council of Minneapolis.

St. Louis Park

Whole Learning School gets grant

The Whole Learning School in St. Louis Park has received a 2014 STEM grant from the Minnesota Independent School Forum.

The Whole Learning School will use the grant money to ­create a STEM-based summer program called The Learning Project. It will be an art-infused, project-based approach to learning science, technology, engineering and math.