Look for lots of extra traffic in downtown St. Paul today as We Day will bring more than 18,000 students and educators committed to make a difference in our communities, nation and around the world to the Xcel Energy Center.

The event features renowned speakers, cultural icons and musicians. Here is the list of dignataries who will appear:

  • Mark Dayton  – Governor of Minnesota
  • Brenda Cassellius – Commissioner of Education, Minnesota
  • Chris Coleman – Mayor of St. Paul
  • Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan
  • Jonas Brothers  – GRAMMY®-nominated, multi-platinum artists
  • Carly Rae Jepsen – GRAMMY®-nominated, multi-platinum singer-songwriter
  • Fifth Harmony – America’s first teen girl group
  • Debby Ryan – Disney® Channel actress and musician
  • Bridgit Mendler – Platinum selling artist and star of Disney’s Good Luck Charlie
  • Barbara Pierce Bush – Humanitarian, Co-founder and President, Global Health Corps, and daughter of Former US President George W. Bush
  • Jesse Giddings – E! News correspondent and Free The Children ambassador
  • Demi Lovato  – Award-winning singer-songwriter and Free The Children ambassador, joining via a video message
  • Minnesota Vikings – NFL players
  • Martin Luther King III – Human Rights advocate and eldest son of the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • Mia Farrow – Award-winning actress, activist and United Nations ambassador
  • The Tenors – Juno Award-winning Multi-platinum singers
  • Yong Stitch – Rapper and singer who is hailed as “Canada’s Next Hip-hop Sensation” by ET Canada
  • Kelly Levesque – A highly regarded singer and songwriter who has collaborated with many Grammy Award-winning producers and musicians
  • Katie Garfield  – Singer-songwriter and actress
  • Dessa – Doomtree Records recording artist, rapper, singer, poet, and essayist
  • Jack Jablonski – Local Benilde – St. Margaret’s teen who suffered a spinal cord injury during a hockey game
  • Kenyan Boys Choir – Traditional African male choir, who sang at the 2009 inauguration of President Obama
  • Michelle Bergh – Miss Minnesota Pre-Teen
  • We Day Minnesota co-chairs and siblings Hutton Phillips and Dean Phillips who also serves as Chairman of Talenti Gelato and Co-Chair of the Edward J.  Phillips Family Foundation
  • Marissa Mohammed – Youth speaker from the Banyan Community Center
  • Native Pride Arts – Indigenous youth performers whose mission is to educate, inspire, motivate and empower diverse communities
  • Craig and Marc Kielburger – International activists and co-founders of Free The Children
  • Spencer West  – Me to We inspirational speaker, Free The Children ambassador, author and double amputee who climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro on his hands and in his wheelchair in June 2012
  • Molly Burke  – Visually impaired Me to We motivational speaker who speaks out against bullying and the power of hope
  • Youth speakers, Siddharth Paari and Hannah Alper
  • Robin Wiszowaty – Me to We motivational speaker, author and Free The Children Program Director in Ghana and Kenya
  • Chris Tse – Me to We inspirational speaker, national spoken word champion and humanitarian
  • - See more at: http://www.weday.com/2013/09/we-day-minnesota-lineup-announced/#sthash.U2Bft9hv.dpuf

Older Post

6:10 a.m. update: St. Croix Crossing work brings closure to Hwy. 36 ramp

Newer Post

Power line project brings delays on 494 in Newport