The Vikings and Twins both arrived in Minnesota in 1961, meaning this is the 57th season for both franchises in this state.

And 2017 marks just the sixth time in those 57 seasons that both franchises have made the postseason in the same year.

It's the first time since 2009, when the Twins lost the AL Division Series to the Yankees while the Vikings fell to the Saints in the NFC title game.

Both teams also made it in 2004, 1987, 1970 and 1969. In 1987, of course, the Twins won their first World Series while the Vikings made it oh-so-close to the Super Bowl, losing to Washington 17-10 in the NFC title game.

And in 1969, the Vikings reached the Super Bowl while the Twins lost in the ALCS after a 97-win regular season.

The longest streak in which neither team made the postseason in the same years? Four seasons, from both 1961 to '64 and 1983 to '86.

Read Michael Rand's blog at