The dozen who didn't

Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977) and Affirmed (1978) turned the mid-'70s into a Triple Crown parade. But since Affirmed, horses that won the first two legs of the Triple Crown have gone 0-for-12.

2012: I'll Have Another Scratched

2008: Big Brown Ninth

2004: Smarty Jones Second

2003: Funny Cide Third

2002: War Emblem Eighth

1999: Charismatic Third

1998: Real Quiet Second

1997: Silver Charm Second

1989: Sunday Silence Second

1987: Alysheba Fourth

1981: Pleasant Colony Third

1979: Spectacular Bid Third