Heavyweight Tony Nelson, who went 33-1 and won his second consecutive national title, was announced as MVP of the Gophers wrestling team at their postseason awards banquet.

Other award winners included Dylan Ness (most exciting wrestler); Scott Schiller (most dedicated); Logan Storley (most courageous) and Kevin Steinhaus (leadership).

Cody Yohn, the lone senior among the 10 starters, and Danny Zilverberg, a late mainstay at 157 pounds, shared the most improved award.