Three Lynx players will play for Team USA in the 2012 Summer Olympics in London. They are guards Lindsay Whalen and Seimone Augustus and forward Maya Moore.

USA Basketball announced the names of 11 of the 12 players who will be on coach Geno Auriemma's team on Friday. The 12th player will be named later.

All three Lynx on the team were WNBA all-stars a year ago and key members of the franchise's first league championship team.

"Each of these women is incredibly talented," said Roger Griffith, the Lynx executive vice president, "and we look forward to seeing them play in front of the entire world this summer."

Augustus played on the U.S. team that won a gold medal in the Beijing Olympics in 2008. Whalen and Moore were both members of the U.S. team that won the 2010 FIBA World Championships.

Three players were named to their third Olympic team. They are Sue Bird of Seattle, Tamika Catchings of Indiana and Diana Taurasi of Phoenix.

The five other rosters spots went to Swin Cash and Sylvia Fowles of Chicago,  Candace Parker of Los Angeles, Tina Charles of Connecticut and Angel McCoughtry of Atlanta.

"These 11 players include a great mix of international veterans, whose leadership is invaluable to the team," said Jim Tooley, USA Basketball's executive director and CEO according to his organization's web site. "And we have young players who have proven themselves and who are hungry for this opportunity."

This is the fourth Olympics in which the Lynx will have at least one representative on the U.S. team. Katie Smith played in the 2000 and 2004 Olympics, and Augustus in 2008. Augustus averaged 8.7 points and 3.3 rebounds in China.

Whalen averaged 5.9 points and 1.6 assists in the World Championship, Moore 8.7 points and 3.3 rebounds.

The Olympic women's basketball competition will run from July 28-Aug. 11. The round robin preliminary round will go until Aug. 5, followed by quarterfinals Aug. 7, the semifinals Aug. 9 and the gold medal game Aug. 11.

The seven countries with spots in the 12-team field already are the U.S., Great Britain, Angola, Australia, Brazil, China and Russia.

The final five teams will be determined during a 12-team qualifying tournament June 25-July 1 in Ankara, Turkey.