St. Thomas won its fifth NCAA regional baseball championship in 16 seasons by winning all four games in its six-team tournament in Moline, Ill., capped by a 9-3 victory over Rose-Hulman (Ind.) on Sunday.

J.D. Dorgan homered and drove in two runs, Tim Kuzniar also had two RBI and Brady Johnson had three hits Sunday for St. Thomas (37-7), which improved to 12-0 in May and 28-2 in its past 30 games. The Tommies, national champions in 2001 and ’09, advance to this week’s eight-team NCAA Division III College World Series in Appleton, Wis., playing their opening game at 10 a.m. Friday against defending national champion Linfield (Ore.).

• For the first time since 2006, St. Thomas is back in the eight-team NCAA D-III softball tournament. The Tommies rallied for a 10-4 victory over North Central (Ill.) at the Super Regional championship in Naperville, Ill. The Tommies play Salisbury (Md.) at 2:30 p.m. Thursday in the opener of the double-elimination tournament.

St. Thomas junior Breezy Bannon pitched a seven-hitter to win her third game of the postseason Sunday. Kristin Bigelbach and Mary Rentz each scored three runs.

Minnesota State Mankato advances

The Minnesota State Mankato baseball team beat Emporia State 6-3 Sunday to earn its third consecutive NCAA Central Region championship and fourth in the past five years on Sunday in Russellville, Ark.

The Mavericks (45-9) used a three-run fourth inning to help beat the Hornets (42-19) and will make their eighth appearance at the D-II College World Series.


• Devin Stanford finished second in the discus at 167 feet, 7 inches, helping the Gophers to a seventh-place finish at the Big Ten outdoor track and field championships Sunday in West Lafayette, Ind., Sunday. The Gophers scored 75½ points. Penn State won the title with 136. … The Gophers men’s team closed out the Big Ten outdoor meet in 10th place, scoring 44 points. Wisconsin won with 121.

• The Gophers women’s rowing team placed sixth at the Big Ten championships with 55 combined team points Sunday at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis. Lynn Hodnett was named first-team All-Big Ten.

• Andy Jacobson and Aaron Barber birdied four of the last nine holes for a 6-under-par 65 to win the MPGA Four-Ball Championship by four strokes at Monticello Country Club.