Tech leadership post filled internally

The district's interim head of instructional technology position has been filled by Dan Pickens, a veteran high school teacher who was most recently a teacher on special assignment with the district. Last year, he served as digital learning specialist and the year before that, a K-12 mathematics coach. The position, previously held by Charles Duarte, is responsible for coordinating the one-to-one iPad initiative, supporting technology-related professional development and working with the school board, teachers and administrators on curriculum development, communication and technology security.


Online school approved by state

Lakeville Area Public Schools' application to host a K-12 online school was approved by the Minnesota Department of Education this month. The online school, called LinK12 Lakeville, is set to open this fall. Any student in Minnesota may enroll, regardless of where they live.

The school's curriculum will meet the same standards as any other Minnesota school, but all content will be delivered online. Classes will be taught by both current Lakeville teachers and new hires.

For more information, go to and click on the "LinK12 Lakeville" icon on the left or e-mail Emily McDonald at

West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan

New principal named at Somerset

This year, Somerset Elementary School will be led by Sara Palodichuk, who most recently served as principal at Carver Elementary School in Maplewood. She has also served as a teacher, an assistant principal and a literacy specialist in the South Washington County district. She will replace longtime principal Mary Bowman, who retired this summer. Palodichuk started in her new job on Aug. 1.


Six to be inducted into Burnsville hall

The Burnsville High School Hall of Fame will welcome six inductees next month. The members will be officially inducted in a free public ceremony on Thursday, Sept. 12 at 5:30 p.m. at the high school's Mraz Center.

The new members are Katie Snyder Bolling, the Burnsville Lions Club, Mike Luckraft, Greg Orson, Laura Slominski and Alyse R. Solberg Stofer. They will join 54 other members of the Hall of Fame, which was established in 2006. The Hall of Fame recognizes alumni who have made great achievements in their career and contributions both to Burnsville High School and their respective communities.