USA Hockey has named a handful of major award winners for the 2012-13 season.

They will receive their awards on June 5 or 7. Among the award winnrers are six Minnesotans. Below are their bios, compiled by USA Hockey:

Amanda Kessel ... Bob Allen Women's Player of the Year

The junior foward won the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, led the Gophers  to an undefeated season and an  NCAA championship.

Earned a gold medal as a member of Team USA at the IIHF Women’s World Championship.

Led the nation with a career-high 101 points (46 goals, 55 assists).

Was a first-team All-America selection, and the  WCHA Player of the Year.

Eric Hartzell ... College Player of the Year

Led Quinnipiac University to a 30-7-5 record, the ECAC regular-season title, and the school’s first-ever trip to the NCAA Men’s Frozen and a national runner-up finish.

The senior goaltender and White Bear Lake native was selected to the 2012-13 American Hockey Coaches Association's Division I All-America East first team and was the 2012-13 USCHO Player of the Year.

Named ECAC Hockey Player of the Year and Goaltender of the Year honors.

The Hobey Baker finalist allowed two goals or fewer in 35 of his 42 starts and led the Bobcats to the top overall team defense in the nation. He posted a 1.57 goals-against average, a .933 save percentage and led the nation with 2,522 minutes played. His five shutouts tied for third overall.

In nets, as Hartzell as Bobcats  went 18-0-3 during a 21-game unbeaten streak that ran from Nov. 9 to Feb. 9.



Taylor Cammarata ...  Dave Tyler Junior Player of the Year

Played for the Waterloo Black Hawks. ... Was named both the USHL’s Forward of the Year and Player of the Year after leading the league with 38 goals and 93 points in 59 games. His 55 assists placed second overall in the league.

Had at least one point in 48 of 59 games played and had 29 multiple-point games, including a six-point effort on Oct. 28 at Youngstown. He was plus or even in 53 of his 59 games and placed fourth in the league with a plus-39 rating.

Member of the U.S. junior select team this past fall that earned first place at the 2012 World Junior A Challenge.

Signed and will play for Gophers  in 2013-14 season.

Charlie Lindgren ... Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year

Helped the Sioux Falls Stampede to the USHL’s Western Conference crown and a second-place finish overall in the league with a 35-14-2 regular-season record.

Led the USHL in wins with 35 victories and allowed two or fewer goals on 24 occasions, including a pair of shutouts, and finished the regular season with a 2.80 goals against average and .900 save percentage.

Fifth in the league with 1,198 saves and appeared in all 10 playoff games for Sioux Falls, posting a 5-5 record along with a 2.52 goals against average and .921 save percentage.

Will play for St. Cloud State in 2013-14.


Phil Housley ... Distinguished Achievement Award

In 2012-13, Phil Housley helped the United States capture medals at two international competitions.

Was head coach of the national Junior Team which won the gold medal at the IIHF World Junior Championship in January in Ufa, Russia.

In May, was assistant coach on U.S. team which eanred the bronze medal at the IIHF Men’s World Championship in Finland and Sweden.

.Housley enjoyed a 21-year career as a defenseman in the NHL, finishing with 1,232 points (338-894). Recently was named an assistant coach with the Nashville Predators.

The Distinguished Achievement Award is presented to a U.S. citizen who has made hockey his or her profession and has made outstanding contributions on or off the ice to the sport in America.

Sue Ring-Jarvi ...  Adult Ironman of the Year

She organized the University of Minnesota’s women’s hockey club team in 1974 and initiated girls’ hockey programs throughout the metro area from 1976-78.

She was  part of the movement that led Minnesota to become the first state to recognize girls’ hockey as a varsity sport in 1994.

Ring-Jarvi was inducted into the University of Minnesota’s National M Club Sports Hall of Fame in 2003 and was recognized with the Joe Burke Award in 2007, presented annually to the person who has given outstanding contribution, support, and dedication to women’s ice hockey.

She also plays the sport, most recently competing with the Minnesota Blue J Bandits.