Six Minneapolis district teachers will be among 135 competing for statewide teacher of the year honors in a contest sponsored by Education Minnesota.

The six teachers who accepted nominations and completed portfolios on their careers are Amy Lynn Sinness, Lucy Laney Community School; Sarah Gregg, Edison High School math teacher; Daniel Kilibarda and Joyce Lasser, Burroughs Community School; Nicole Kuhse, Marcy Open School; and Stacy Moreno, Kenny special education teacher.

Minneapolis has more teachers competing for the honor than any district other than Shakopee, which has 10 nominees.

Teachers may be nominated by parents or colleagues, among others, but it's up to them whether to do the necessary paperwork to enter.

A panel of 25 people will cut the list to semi-finalists, then finalists. Ten finalists will be interviewed on May 4 and the winner will be announced at a banquet the next day.