Rebecca Dunham.

Rebecca Dunham.


The winner of the second annual Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry is Wisconsin poet  Rebecca Dunham, who teaches at the University of Wisconsin in Milwaukee.

The prize for her unpublished manuscript, "Glass Armonica," is $10,000 and publication this December by Milkweed Editions.

Dunham, who lives in Bayside, Wis., is the author of "The Miniature Room" and "The Flight Cage." Her poetry has appeared in The Iowa Review, Prairie Schooner, Crazyhorse, AGNI, and other literary journals.

Finalists for this year's prize were Michael Bazzett of Minneapolis, Oliver Bendorf of Madison, Wis., Amy McCann of Minneapolis, and Angela Voras-Hills of Madison.

The Lindquist & Vennum Prize for poetry was established by Milkweed Editions and the Lindquist & Vennum Foundation. The finalists are selected by Milkweed editors, and the winner this year was chosen by G.C. Waldrep. Poets who live in the Upper Midwest are eligible to compete for the regional award. The inaugural award went to Twin Cities poet Patricia Kirkpatrick for "Odessa," now a finalist for the Minnesota Book Award.


Older Post

Arthur Phillips a finalist for the IMPAC/Dublin Award

Newer Post

Mankato's Nick Healy to be honored in Chicago