Advertisement

Replacement ref who botched Packers call insists he made "the correct call"

Good times.

September 27, 2012 at 10:04PM
(The Minnesota Star Tribune)
(The Minnesota Star Tribune)

TMZ.com, source of all your hot sports scoops, got ahold of the replacement referee who signaled "touchdown" in the Packers/Seahawks game. And Lance Easley stands by his call.

He stands by his decision, adamantly saying, "It was the correct call."

Easley told us he can't believe he's being vilified ... "I didn't do anything wrong."

He says strongly ... the Packers player who allegedly intercepted the ball never had singular possession because, "You have to not only have the ball but have either 2 feet or a body part on the ground, and that never happened."

Easley says this was clearly a case of simultaneous possession -- meaning the catch goes to the offensive player -- adding, "Put any other official who knows the rules and they would make the same call."

This opinion, while flattering to Vikings fans, is not shared by roughly 98 percent of the population.

Advertisement
about the writer

about the writer

Michael Rand

Columnist / Reporter

Michael Rand is the Minnesota Star Tribune's Digital Sports Senior Writer and host/creator of the Daily Delivery podcast. In 25 years covering Minnesota sports at the Minnesota Star Tribune, he has seen just about everything (except, of course, a Vikings Super Bowl).

See Moreicon

More from Sports

See More
card image

Following the news of Chris Paddack being traded to the Detroit Tigers, Twins president Derek Falvey has finally picked a side ahead of the MLB trade deadline.

card image
card image
Advertisement
Advertisement

To leave a comment, .

Advertisement