1976: Denver Dynamos franchise moves to the Twin Cities and the Minnesota Kicks join the North American Soccer League.

1981: Though successful (104-70 record and six playoff appearances), the Kicks franchise folds.

1984: Fort Lauderdale Strikers become Minnesota Strikers for five seasons.

1995: After four seasons as an amateur team, the Minnesota Thunder joins the United States Interregional Soccer League.

1999: Buzz Lagos leads the Thunder to the USL A-League title.

2009: Despite moderate success, the Thunder folds because of financial issues.

2010: National Sports Center Foundation forms the NSC Minnesota Stars, which plays in a lesser-known D-2 Pro League.

2011: The new NASL takes ownership of the franchise, now known as the Minnesota Stars, and the team wins the inaugural title.

2012: Bill McGuire buys the Stars and later changes the team’s name to Minnesota United FC.

2015: MLS announces Minnesota as its 22nd franchise.

2017: United set to make its MLS regular-season debut Friday in Portland.