The old Grain Exchange trading floor, now occupied by coco.

The old Grain Exchange trading floor, now occupied by coco.

The Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Committee, the Minneapolis chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and Preserve Minneapolis, have announced the recipients of this year's preservation awards.

According to a news release, the honor highlights the year's best achievements for transforming a historic property, building or landscape in such a way that is respectful to the past.

Projects are judged on "attention to the quality of design, architecture, workmanship, and materials as well as the positive impact on the surrounding neighborhood and community."

Here are the winners:

For Historic Restoration, Rehabilitation or Adaptive Reuse Project:

Washburn Crosby Elevator No. 1; Basilica of St. Mary Sacristy and Narthex restoration; 430 Oak Grove Apartments; Copham Apartments and ElseWarehouse Apartments; Minneapolis Grain Exchange Trading Floor (coco Minneapolis).

Recent Past Award:

Cedar Sqaure West (Riverside Plaza)

Community Education and Advocacy:

Museum in the Streets -- Lake Street

Good Luck and Good Fortune:

The Hollywood Theater; Peavey Plaza

The Steve Murray Award:

Chester Rog

Janet Moore covers commercial real estate for the Star Tribune.




Older Post

Coco expanding to Uptown

Newer Post

Twin Cities home builders on track to have best year since 2007