DETROIT -- Samuel Deduno got pounded for seven runs in 2 1/3 innings, and the Twins were no match for Doug Fister in Saturday’s 8-0 loss at Comerica Park.

This isn’t to dismiss any of that, but anyone watching the game had to wonder about the runner’s interference call on Alexi Casilla in the fifth inning. Casilla hit a leadoff double, and with one out, Denard Span popped up.

Casilla retreated to second base and turned his back to home plate, seemingly making every effort to safely get out of the way for Tigers shortstop Jhonny Peralta to catch the ball. But Peralta backpedaled, collided with Casilla and missed it.

The Twins would have had runners at first and second, but second base umpire Brian O’Nora called runner’s interference on Casilla.

“I’ve never seen that before,” Peralta told the Associated Press. “What was [Casilla] supposed to do?”

Manager Ron Gardenhire argued with O’Nora, to no avail.

“The base can’t protect a runner; you have to try to get out of the way,” Gardenhire said, referring to the rule book. “In my opinion, I think Lexi was doing everything he could to get out of the way. It just didn’t work out, and he got run over. And I think in roller derby, there would be a guy in the penalty box.”

Again folks, not saying that play was the reason for the Twins 11th shutout loss of the season. Fister was terrific, the Twins managed just seven hits, and I covered Deduno’s meltdown elsewhere. But I figured there might be some readers wondering about the Casila call.

Older Post

Twins blanked in Detroit

Newer Post

Diamond on the mound in first game of doubleheader