"Owly" series, by Andy Runton

"TOON" comics treasury, conceived by Francoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman

"Babymouse" series, by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm

"Amelia Rules!" series, by Jimmy Gownley

Middle school

"Coraline," by Neil Gaiman

"The Unsinkable Walker Bean," by Aaron Renier

"Anne Frank:The Anne Frank House Authorized Graphic Biography," by Sid Jacobson and Ernie Colón

"Bone" series, by Jeff Smith

– Adult

"American Born Chinese," by Gene Yang

"Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty," by G. Neri

"Persepolis," by Marjane Satrapi

"Blankets," by Craig Thompson

"Maus," by Art Speigelman

"The 9/11 Report: A Graphic Adaptation," by Sid Jacobson and Ernie Colón

"The Arrival," by Shaun Tan