Peter Bognanni. Photograph by Melissa Copon.

Peter Bognanni. Photograph by Melissa Copon.


The American Academy of Arts and Letters issued its annual honors and awards today, and there are so many familiar names on the list--Katherine Boo. (Is there nothing she hasn't won?) Kevin Powers, for "The Yellow Birds."  Short story writer Lydia Davis. Graywolf Press poet D.A. Powell (ditto him).

And Macalester visiting instructor Peter Bognanni, author of "House of Tomorrow," (a finalist for a Minnesota Book Award, and winner of the Los Angeles Times First Novel Award and an ALA Alex Award), has won one of two Rome Prize fellowships. 

The Rome Prize is a one-year residency at the American Academy in Rome. Bognanni is a native of Iowa and a graduate of the Iowa Writers Workshop.

Here's our review of "House of Tomorrow."

And here's the full list of the American Academy awards:

Arts and Letters Awards in Literature: Katherine Boo, Joanna Klink, Neil LaBute, Bill McKibben, Bruce Norris, Darryl Pinckney, D.A. Powell, and Brad Watson.

Benjamin H. Danks award, $20,000 for an exceptional playwright: Amy Herzog.

E.M. Forster Award, $20,000 to a young writer from the U.K. or Ireland to stay in the U.S.: Adam Foulds.

Sue Kaufman Prize for  First Fiction: Kevin Powers.

Award of Merit Medal: $10,00 for outstanding short story writing: Lydia Davis.

Addison M. Metcalf Award, $10,000 for a young writer: Mischa Berlinski.

Rome Fellowships: Peter Bognanni and Peter Streckfus

Rosenthal Family Foundation award, $10,000 to a young writer for work published in 2012: Claire Vaye Watkins.

John Updike Aard, $20,000 for mid-career writer of excellence: Jennifer Egan.

Harold D. Vursell Memorial Award, $10,000: Christopher Benfey

E.B. White Award, $10,000 for children's literature: Natalie Babbitt.



Older Post

Minnesota, hats off to thee!

Newer Post

A traveling literary festival, coming to a coffee shop near you