The Star Tribune's Metro Players of the Year in football since the award began. All were seniors except for Cretin-Derham Hall's Carl McCullough, who was a junior in 1991.

Year Player School Position

2011 Trey Heid Lakeville North QB

2010 Eric Kline Blaine QB

2009 A.J. Tarpley Wayzata LB

2008 Anders Lee Edina QB

2007 Michael Floyd Cretin-DH WR

2006 Blake Sorensen Eden Prairie LB

2005 Jake Machacek Eastview RB

2004 Walker Ashley Eden Prairie DL

2003 Nathan Swift Hutchinson RB

2002 John Majeski Hastings RB/DB

2001 Kim Sarin Cretin-DH RB/KR

2000 Joe Mauer Cretin-DH QB

1999 Dominique Sims DeLaSalle QB/DB

1998 Thomas Tapeh SP Johnson RB

1997 Marvin Spencer Blaine RB

1996 Aaron Runk Stillwater DB/WR

1995 Adam Runk Stillwater RB

1994 LeRoy McFadden Eden Prairie RB

1993 Tommy Reynolds SP Johnson RB

1992 Marcus Harris Brooklyn Ctr RB

1991 Carl McCullough Cretin-DH RB

1990 Bryce Darnell Brooklyn Ctr QB

1989 Joe Dziedzic Mpls. Edison RB/LB

1988 Paul Meyer Mpls. Henry RB/LB

1987 Rod Smith Roseville RB

1986 Kurt Gunning Stillwater RB

1985 Bob Coughlin Osseo NG

Ron Goetz Waconia RB/LB

1984 Steve Walsh Cretin-DH QB


The Star Tribune All- Metro teams and Player of the Year were chosen based on nominations from various area coaches, conversations with representatives from each conference and staff observations.