Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year Taylor Koenen of Shakopee heads the list of five finalists for the 2016 Minnesota Miss Basketball award, presented by the Minnesota Girls’ Basketball Coaches Association.

The list also includes Nia Hollie of Hopkins, Jamie Ruden of Rochester John Marshall, Kiara Russell of Osseo and Abi Scheid of Elk River.

The winner, recognized as the top senior player in the state, will be announced April 8. Eastview’s Madison Guebert won the award in 2015.


U golfer leads after record-setting 62

Rúnar Arnórsson broke a 17-year-old Gophers record by shooting 10-under par 62 over the first 18 holes at the Barona Collegiate Cup in Lakeside, Calif. Arnórsson, who eclipsed James McLean’s 63 from May 9, 1999 followed that with a 1-under 71 and has a 5-strole lead through 36 holes, and the Gophers are second to San Diego State in the team standings.


Two Gophers volleyball players chosen for U.S. collegiate tour in July in Europe

Outside hitter Alyssa Goehner and middle blocker Molly Lohman, both of the Gophers, were selected to the U.S. Collegiate National Team Europe Tour roster from a February tryout camp.

The squad, part of USA Volleyball’s High Performance pipeline, will train and compete from July 6-16. The CNT-Europe squad will have training matches against an Italian federation team July 7-9 near Milan, Italy, before heading to Croatia to play in the Global Challenge July 11-14.