Brenda CasselliusThe Minnesota Department of Education has recognized 22 "Celebration Schools", an honor given to schools that serve poor students who are demonstrating good achievement.

“I want to congratulate these schools for this incredible accomplishment,” said Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius. “Minnesotans should be proud of the work going on in our schools. I look forward to continue learning about their successful efforts to ensure all students succeed and share that work with other schools across the state.”

Some of  metro-area schools receiving the honor include: Cedar Park Elementary in the Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan School District, Oak Grove Elementary in Bloomington, Huddleston Elementary and Oak Hills Elementary in Lakeville, Richardson and Weaver Elementary Schools in North St.Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale, the Hmong College Prep Academy and KIPP Minnesota Charter School.

St. Paul Public Schools did not have any schools picking up the designation. Minneapolis Public Schools had one - Kenny Elementary.

Another notable school picking up the honor is The FAIR School downtown. Recently, the West Metro Education Program announced that it was considering transferring ownership of The FAIR School to the Minneapolis or Robbinsdale school districts or possibly giving management of the two FAIR campuses to another member district.

You can see the entire list of schools earning the Celebration designation here.

The "Celebration" designation is part of the state's new school accountability system. Under that system, schools that receive federal poverty aid are eligible to receive designations that signify how they're faring academically.

Reward Schools are the top 15 percent of schools receiving Title I money. Celebration Schools are the 25 percent of schools directly below Reward Schools and Priority schools are in the bottom five percent.