Four new members will be inducted into the Minnesota Real Estate Hall of Fame, established two years ago by the Shenehon Center for Real Estate at the University of St. Thomas.

The four — chosen for their “outstanding business performance, high standards of ethics and sense of community” — will be inducted Thursday at the university’s downtown Minneapolis campus. They are:

  • David Bell (1841-1930): As one of the early pioneers of the Minneapolis business community, Bell contributed to the growth of the city through many business ventures, including the David C. Bell Investment Co., Minnesota Linseed Oil Co. and many civic groups.
  • Robert Boblett Sr. (1917-1987): A 41-year real estate veteran, Boblett was admired for his work ethic and dedication to inspire others. Each year, the Robert P. Boblett Award is given out by the Society of Industrial and Office Realtors in his memory.
  • Philip Smaby (1918-2008): Smaby’s motto was “always a move ahead.” During his long career, Smaby co-founded the former Bermel-Smaby Realty Co. and led several real estate trade associations, including the National Association of Realtors.
  • Boyd Stofer (1949-2011): Stofer left his mark across the commercial real estate landscape in many ways and through the companies he led, including United Properties, NorthMarq Real Estate Services, NorthMarq Capital and RJM Construction.

Older Post

Gonyea Homes and Remodeling named builder of the year

Newer Post

Apartment demand continues to outpace construction