Dancer Greg Waletski, who is retiring from Zenon after 22 years, won a McKnight grant, along with five others. / Star Tribune photo by Jeff Wheeler


The 2013 McKnight Artist Fellowships for Dancers and Choreographers, announced Tuesday, went to choreographers HIJACK (Kristin Van Loon and Arwen Wilder), Emily Johnson, and Karen Sherman.

Each choreography fellow recieves $25,000 and is eligible to apply for a national residency with one of four affiliated national dance partners.

The winning dancers are Kari Mosel, Tamara Ober, and Gregory Waletski.

Each dancer-winner receives $25,000, plus the opportunity to commission a choreographer of his/her choice to create a new solo work to be performed in the Twin Cities in fall 2014. 

The McKnight, aided by Northrop dance, also funds a Minnesota residency for an international choreographer to visit the Twin Cities and create a new work with Twin Cities dancers. Chosen this year is Montreal-based George Stamos, who will spend two weeks here in June to work with dancers Ryan Dean, Robert Haarman, Patrick Jeffrey, Justin Leaf, Nic Lincoln and understudy Eben Kowler. A first performance of that work is scheduled for 7 p.m. June 22 at the TekBox Theater in Minneapolis (612-624-2345).


Older Post

Pistol Annies cancel Winstock gig but Miranda Lambert to appear instead

Newer Post

Concert news: Timberlake tickets, Hagar at the fair, Music in Mears