Nick Healy.

Nick Healy.

Mankato author Nick Healy will be honored in May for his collection of short stories, "It Takes You Over," which tied for second place in the annual Friends of American Writers prize. since 1928, the FAW has sponsored an annual competition to boost the careers of new and promising writers from the Midwest. Previous winners include Carl Sandburg, Toni Morrison, and Jane Smiley. Last year's winners included St. Paul writer Kevin Fenton for his novel, "Merit Badges."

Healy tied with Cincinnati, Ohio, writer Marjorie Celona, author of "Y"; they each win $1,000.

The top winner was Christopher Hebert of Nashville, Tenn., who will win $2,000 for his novel, "The Boiling Season."

The awards ceremony will be in Chicago on May 10.

Older Post

Second Milkweed poetry prize announced

Newer Post

Two new Kate DiCamillo books pubbing this year