Hennepin County's 41 libraries will stay open an extra 249 hours per week beginning in January.

Under the new hours, libraries will open at either 9 a.m. or noon and close at 5 p.m., 8 p.m. or 9 p.m. The structure was designed to meet the needs of patrons at each library. The new times narrow the possible combinations of openings and closings. Previously, libraries had four possible opening times and seven possible closing times.

"Our patrons have been asking for more open hours and a less confusing schedule," said Hennepin County Library Director Lois Langer Thompson.

The exact start date for the new hours hasn't been set yet.

While 34 libraries will be open more hours, three will stay the same and a few will see reductions. Roosevelt, Southeast and Webber Park in Minneapolis will keep the same number of hours. Champlin, Maple Plain, Oxboro in Bloomington and Westonka will be open fewer hours.

More details will be available in December.