Two-time NCAA heavyweight champion Tony Nelson was named the MVP of the Gophers wrestling team.

He led team to a 16-2 dual meet record, 7-1 in Big Ten. Gophers won national duals title, were second in Big Ten and third in NCAA meet.

Nelson was 33-1 overall, 8-0 in conference. He also had seven pins, tying David Thorn for team high.

Other award winners:

Most dedicated: Scott Schiller, 29-6 at 197.

Most courageous: Logan Storley.

Leadership award: Kevin Steinhaus.

Most improved: Cody Yohn and Danny Zilverberg.

Intensity award: Chris and Nick Dardanes.

Nine of 10 starters were juniors or younger. Yohn was the only senior, so team should be good again next season barring key injuries.