While waiting today’s bowl announcement, the Gophers held their annual team banquet and announced this year’s awards winners. Here’s a list, as compiled from Tweets from the @GopherFootball account:

Bronko Nagurski Award (MVP): Ra’Shede Hageman

Bruce Smith Award (outstanding offensive player): David Cobb

Carl Eller Award (outstanding defensive player): Ra'Shede Hageman

Bobby Bell Award (outstanding special teams player): Peter Mortell

Outstanding Offensive Freshmen of the Year: Donovahn Jones and Maxx Williams

Outstanding Defensive Freshman of the Year: Hank Ekpe

Wide Receiver of the Year: Derrick Engel

Offensive Back of the Year: David Cobb

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Zac Epping

Defensive Back of the Year: Brock Vereen

Linebacker of the Year: Aaron Hill

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Ra’Shede Hageman

Gary Tinsley Award (underdog): David Cobb

Neil Fredenburg Award (courage and love of the game): Aaron Hill

Butch Nash Award (competitive on field and in classroom): Jon Christenson

Paul Giel Award (honoring unselfishness, concern for the 'U'): Brock Vereen and Aaron Hill

Tony Dungy Character/Community Service Award: Chris Hawthorne

Work-Team Players of the Year: Jephte Matilus and Chris Wipson

Older Post

Christensen: Gophers bowl update; Thoughts from Big Ten title game

Newer Post

Bowl news comes today: Gophers in line for Texas Bowl