Senior Obsa Ali of the Gophers finished second in his heat of the 3,000-meter steeplechase on Wednesday at the NCAA Track and Field Championships in Austin, Texas, to earn a spot in Friday’s final.

Ali, whose time was 8 minutes, 54.11 seconds, is the defending champion in the event. Teammate Alec Basten placed 14th (8:56.26) in the same event and did not advance. Kieran McKeag, another Gopher, placed 14th in the hammer throw (221 feet, 9 inches).

Gophers men’s hockey schedule released

A visit from the defending national champs, a home series against rival North Dakota and a Mariucci Classic tournament with an all-Minnesota field are among the highlights of the 2019-20 Gophers men’s hockey schedule announced Wednesday.

The 34-game regular season begins Oct. 10-11 with a trip to Colorado College. The home schedule opens Oct. 18-19 against Niagara before the Gophers play a home-and-home series against two-time defending NCAA champion Minnesota Duluth. The Bulldogs visit 3M Arena at Mariucci on Friday, Oct. 25, then the Gophers make the trip to the Twin Ports the following day.

North Dakota comes to Mariucci on Nov. 28 and 29.

Minnesota plays Bemidji State on the first day of the Mariucci Classic on Dec. 28. The other matchup that day is St. Cloud State vs. Minnesota State Mankato.



Whitecaps re-sign goalie Leveille

Goalie Amanda Leveille, who helped lead the Minnesota Whitecaps to the NWHL championship last season, re-signed with the club for the 2019-20 season. Leveille also won three NCAA championships with the Gophers.


Mr., Ms. Minnesota Golf finalists named

Eight girls and eight boys have been named finalists for the Mr. and Ms. Minnesota Golf awards given to the state’s top high school senior players.

The girl finalists: Emily Doeden, Park Christian; Leah Herzog, Red Wing; Melanie LeMinh, Wayzata; Madi McGinty, Minnewaska; Dasha Parker, Edina; Jessica Smith, Lakeville South; Molly Stevens, Northfield, and Sophia Yoemans, Red Wing

The boys finalists: Matt Armstrong, Eden Prairie; Cecil Belisle, Red Wing; Muzzy Donohue, St. Thomas Academy; Trey Fessler, St. Michael-Albertville; Will Frazier, Eastview; Connor Glynn, Waconia; Caleb VanArragon, Blaine, and Brock Winter, Stillwater

Award winners will be announced June 9 at the Windsong Farm Golf Club in Independence.

Berry wins sixth Senior Open in playoff

Don Berry beat Steve Whittaker on the sixth playoff hole to win the Minnesota Senior Open Championship at the Jewel Golf Club in Lake City. Both finished the 36-hole tournament with 5-under 137s. This was the sixth Senior Open title for Berry.