Starship starring Mickey Thomas will headline Taste of Minnesota on July 4.

Starship starring Mickey Thomas will headline Taste of Minnesota on July 4.

Classic-rock fans will once again have their appetites filled at Taste of Minnesota, which returns to St. Paul’s Harriet Island following a three year-hiatus July 3-6.

Organizers announced their full 2014 music lineup today with a July 4 schedule that looks particularly like something out of years passed, with Starship of “We Built This City” notoriety, the Marshall Tucker Band, Joey Molland’s Badfinger and the previously confirmed Cowboy Mouth. That holiday blowout will be preceded by a day of local bands on July 3 with Soul Asylum, the newly reunited Tina & the B-Sides and Tim Mahoney. July 5 will be more of a hard-rock affair with powerhouse howler Lizzy Hale's namesake band Halestorm, Cinderella’s Tom Keifer and local vets Crow and Gypsy. The fest will end July 6 with a day of country acts including Joe Nichols, who had a hit with "Tequila Makes Her Clothes Fall Off."

The schedule also came with Taste’s new admission policy: Attendees can get in free from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m., after which they must pay a $10 ticket fee that will include $5 in food or drink tickets.

Here’s the full lineup:

  • Thursday, July 3
  • Pioneer Press Main Stage                                           Taste Stage 
  • 2:30 p.m.  Owl featuring Chris Wyse                         11:30 a.m.  Killcode
  • 4:30 p.m.  Tim Mahoney                                               2 p.m.  The UnderGroove
  • 6:30 p.m.  Tina and the B-Sides                                 4:30 p.m.  Corey Stevens
  • 8:30 p.m.  Soul Asylum                                                   
  • Friday, July 4
  • Pioneer Press Main Stage                                          Taste Stage
  • 12 p.m.     Vic Tedesco                                                 11:30 a.m.  Backseat Boogie Band
  • 2:30 p.m.  Cowboy Mouth                                             2 p.m.  Electric Eye
  • 4:30 p.m.  Badfinger featuring Joey Molland            4:30 p.m.  New Primitives
  • 6:30 p.m.  Marshall Tucker Band
  • 8:30 p.m. Starship featuring Mickey Thomas             
  • Saturday, July 5
  • Pioneer Press Main Stage                                          Taste Stage 
  • 2:30 p.m.  Crow                                                             11:30 a.m.  Oddfathers
  • 4:30 pm.   Gypsy                                                            2 p.m.  Flamin’ Oh’s
  • 6:30 p.m.  Tom Keifer                                                    4:30 p.m.  Ipso Facto
  • 8:30 p.m.  Halestorm                                                                                                                           
  • Sunday, July 6
  • Pioneer Press Main Stage                                           Taste Stage 
  • 2:30 p.m.  Maiden Dixie                                                11:30 a.m.  The Castaways
  • 4:30 p.m.  Devon Worley Band                                     2 p.m.  Free Fallin’
  • 6:30 p.m.  Tim Sigler Band                                           4:30 p.m.  Arch Allies
  • 8:30 p.m.  Joe Nichols

Let us know what you think below? Are you looking forward to having Taste back -- and willing to pay for the music this time?

Older Post

Dancing through a mansion

Newer Post

Free State Fair music: Creed's Stapp, Dr. Dog