The weekend's events mean state Reps. Nora Slawik, Denise Dittrich, Ron Shimanski and Marion Greene will not be returning to the Capitol next year.

At endorsing conventions on Saturday, Minneapolis delegates picked five-term DFL Rep. Frank Hornstein over freshman DFL Rep. Marion Greene after redistricting maps placed them in the same district and they opted to run against each other.  While in that race, delegates picked the more senior of the two members, Republican delegates picked freshman Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen, of Glencoe, over third-term Rep. Ron Shimanski, of Silver Lake.

Meanwhile, two DFL representatives took themselves out of the running for the 2012 races, making their announcement to the delegates who have supported them in the past. Seven-term Rep. Nora Slawik, DFL-Maplewood, announced over the weekend that she would not run for an eighth term and four-term Rep. Denise Dittrich, DFL-Champlin, said she would not try for a fifth term. Slawik easily won her last election but Dittrich squeaked by with a less than 300-vote margin of victory.

With the names of those four added to the list, at least 32 members of the Legislature will not be returning to the Capitol next year in their former roles.

See the entire list below and keep this link handy because we will work to keep the list updated:






Older Post

Public shaming: Campaign agency posts list of late lobbyist reports

Newer Post

Ellison is top-rated Democrat on Twitter