Beyond the Pure Fellowship winner Lesley Arimah

Beyond the Pure Fellowship winner Lesley Arimah


Five Minnesota writers -- two poets, two fiction writers, and a writer of creative non-fiction--have been awarded Intermedia Arts fellowships (funded by the Jerome Foundation), each worth between $4,000 and nearly $2,000.

The 2011 "Beyond the Pure Fellowship" recipients are Lesley Arimah and Pallavi Sharma Dixit in fiction; Colleen Casey and John Lee Clark in poetry; and Jacqueline White in creative nonfiction.

Finalists are Molly Van Avery, Kathryn Beynaud, Sierra DeMulder, Katie Leo, Maggie Majewski and Sun Yung Shin.

Judges and mentors were the writers Anya Achtenberg and David Mura, as well as a panel of previous grant winners.

The grant, formerly known as the SASE/Jerome Grant, is for emerging writers who show accomplishment and commitment, but who have not yet received widespread recognition. To learn more about the five winners, click here.


Older Post

Best-selling author Sapphire coming to Minneapolis in July

Newer Post

Oh, Malcolm, you are breaking our hearts