Facebook announced a new legacy contact feature Thursday that allows users to designate a person to manage their account when they die.

The new feature lets users select a loved one or friend as their legacy contact before their death. Users also have the option of sending an alert to that person so they know they’ve been chosen. Legacy contacts may be given permission to download archives of posts, photos, and profile info the deceased has shared on Facebook.


“Facebook is a place to share and connect with friends and family,” the company wrote. “For many of us, it’s also a place to remember and honor those we’ve lost. When a person passes away, their account can become a memorial of their life, friendships and experiences.”


Legacy contacts will be able to write a post that will appear at the top of the deceased person’s timeline, with information like memorial service details or a tribute message.

“By talking to people who have experienced loss, we realized there is more we can do to support those who are grieving and those who want a say in what happens to their account after death,” Facebook said.


The company has also redesigned memorial pages to add the word “remembering” above the deceased person’s name while also allowing legacy contacts to pin a post to the top of the page.

Read original story Facebook Adds Legacy Contact to Help Users’ Accounts Live on At TheWrap