Nick Saban won his fourth national championship, all in the BCS era (1998-present). A look at his titles:

2003: LSU 21, Oklahoma 14

2009: Alabama 37, Texas 21

2011: Alabama 21, LSU 0

2012: Alabama 42, Notre Dame 14

Saban also moved into a tie for second in all-time Associated Press national championships. The list:

5 titles: Paul "Bear'' Bryant, Alabama

4 titles: Frank Leahy, Notre Dame

4 titles: Nick Saban, Alabama, LSU