about the league

Founded: 1992

Location: Arizona spring-training complexes in greater Phoenix (Glendale, Surprise, Scottsdale, Mesa).

Season: 32 games in October and November, plus an all-star and championship game.

Participants: 210 players, seven from each major league organization and mostly prospects from Class AAA and AA, divided into six teams.

Notable alumni: Dozens, including Derek Jeter, Todd Helton, Mike Piazza, Roy Halladay, Torii Hunter, Ryan Howard and Dustin Pedroia.

Limits: Pitch and innings limits are enforced for pitchers, who can work only twice per week. Games are declared ties after 11 innings.

Testing: This year, a handful of games have been used to test the expanded replay system that will be implemented in the major leagues next season.