The first annual Charlie Awards, celebrating the Twin Cities dining and food community, took place in a ceremony on Sunday afternoon at the Pantages Theater in downtown Minneapolis.

Congratulations to the winners, including:

Outstanding Restaurant: Piccolo.

Outstanding Chef: Tim McKee of La Belle Vie.

Outstanding Pastry Chef: Khanh Tran of Cosmos Restaurant.

Outstanding Wait Staff: La Belle Vie.

Outstanding Restaurant Design: Parma 8200.

Emerging Food Professional: Mike Phillips of Green Ox Meat Co.

Best Innovation to Reduce Food Waste: Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market.

Lifetime Achievement: Richard D'Amico, Larry D’Amico and Paul Smith of D’Amico & Partners, owners of D’Amico Kitchen, D’Amico & Sons, Gather, Cafe Lurcat and Bar Lurcat, Campiello, Parma 8200 and Masa.

Minneapolis mayor R.T. Rybak honored longtime servers Cheryl Brezny and Roxanne Olson of Jax Cafe and Marcia Freeman of Murray’s; collectively, they have more than 100 years of service on their time cards.  

In a best dish competition, top honors went to a salmon with roasted corn sauce entree from Porter Creek Hardwood Grill.

Winners were determined by votes among participating restaurants, as well as an online diners’ poll and a panel of experts.

The awards are named for Charlie's Cafe Exceptionale, the landmark Minneapolis restaurant that closed in 1982 after a 49-year run. The event was produced by Ivey Awards impresario Scott Mayer and WCCO Radio's Sue Zelickson.


Older Post

Thanksgiving at the farmers market

Newer Post

'Good Wife' tackles food politics