Former Vikings wide receiver Cris Carter and defensive tackle John Randle are among the 17 finalists who will be considered for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2010 when the Hall's 44-member selection committee meets on Saturday in South Florida. The announcement will be made on Saturday afternoon.

Carter and Randle also were finalists last season. This is Carter's third year of eligibility and Randle's second. Running back Roger Craig, who is best remembered for his time with San Francisco but spent two seasons with the Vikings, also is a finalist.

The Hall's current ground rules stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year. No more than five modern-era candidates can be elected in a given year and a class of six or seven inductees can only be achieved if one or both senior nominees (former Detroit Lions cornerback Dick LeBeau and former Denver Broncos running back Floyd Little) are selected.

This class has at least two first-time nominees who should be locks for induction in wide receiver Jerry Rice and running back Emmitt Smith.

A finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent to be elected. The results will be announced at 4 p.m. Saturday during a two-hour NFL Network show from the Broward County Convention Center.


Older Post

McKinnie feels too much made of his actions

Newer Post

Writer chronicles night out with McKinnie