The four Ramsey County commissioners who represent parts of St. Paul are running for reelection this year, but only two face opponents, according to the Ramsey County elections office.

Tuesday was the deadline for candidates to file for office. The primary election is scheduled for Aug. 10. The general election will be held Nov. 2.

Ramsey County Commissioner Rafael Ortega -- who has represented the Fifth District, which includes downtown, since 1994 -- will square off against downtown St. Paul resident Charles Barklind and Andy Noble, who lives in the Railroad Island neighborhood.

Commissioner Toni Carter, first elected in 2005, is facing Macalester-Groveland resident Rory Koch.

Commissioners Janice Rettman, whose Third District includes Como Park, and Jim McDonough, whose Sixth District includes the East Side, are running unopposed.

Three people are vying for Ramsey County attorney, the post being vacated by Susan Gaertner, who has served since 1994. They are John Choi, a civil practice attorney and former St. Paul city attorney; Tammy Pust, a Roseville City Council member and former prosecutor in the state attorney general's office, and David Schultz, a civil trial attorney and former prosecutor in the state attorney general's office.

The race for Ramsey County sheriff pits incumbent Sheriff Bob Fletcher, elected in 1994, against Matt Bostrom, an assistant chief with the St. Paul Police Department.

Nine people have filed to fill the seat on the Ramsey County District Court bench that will be open in January when District Judge M. Michael Monahan retires. They are Gloria E. Bogen; John G. Dillon; Greg Gaffaney; Mark Ireland; Stephen C. Kelly; Ed Matthews; Trevor Stewart Oliver; Tom Plunkett and Matthew Lawson Thornton.

Incumbent Judge William Leary faces opposition from Connie Iverson.

Washington County

Three of five seats on the Washington County Board are up for election. Board Chairman Bill Pulkrabek, whose Second District includes Oakdale, is seeking a fourth term. He's challenged by Jeff Birttnen of Oakdale, Joseph Delaney Sr. of Lake Elmo and Lake Elmo Mayor Dean Johnston.

Myra Peterson has represented the Fourth District, including Cottage Grove, since 1993. She faces two challengers from Cottage Grove, Autumn Lehrke and Colleen Millard.

In the Fifth District, which is most of Woodbury, Lisa Weik has served since a special election in 2008. She is running for reelection, challenged by Kelly Monkman of Woodbury.

County Attorney Doug Johnson is retiring this year after serving since 1999. Three candidates are seeking the office: Kevin Shoeberg and Peter Orput of Stillwater, and Clayton Robinson of Woodbury.

Staff writers Jim Anderson and Pat Pheifer contributed to this report. Chris Havens • 612-673-4148