Grant Besse, the sharp-shooting forward who led Benilde-St. Margaret to the 2012 Class 2A title, heads a field of 10 senior candidates announced Thursday for the 2013 Mr. Hockey award, presented to the state's top senior skater.

Joining him as finalists are linemate Dan Labosky along with fellow forwards T.J. Roo of Totino-Grace, Adam Johnson of Hibbing, Zach Lavalle of Hill-Murray, Zach Glienke of Eagan and Jake Jackson of Tartan, and defensemen Parker Reno of Edina, Jake Bischoff of Grand Rapids and Tommy Vannelli of Minnetonka. The winner will be announced March 10.

In last season's Class 2A state championship game, Besse, a University of Wisconsin recruit, scored all of his team's goals -- three of them shorthanded -- in the Red Knights' 5-1 victory over Hill-Murray.

Bischoff and Vannelli are Gophers recruits.

Also announced were the finalists for the 2013 Frank Brimsek Award -- John Dugas of Hill-Murray and David Zevnik of St. Thomas Academy -- which goes to the state's top senior goalie.


Anglers' Expo begins today

The second annual Minnesota Anglers' Expo -- a sports show launched by the National Sports Center in Blaine -- is this weekend at the NSC's Sport Expo Center. The event premiered last year as the Minnesota Bass Expo, but it has been renamed and refocused this year to embrace all sport fishing.

Included will be fishing tackle, electronics and boats, and seminars on fishing techniques, electronics and more.

Admission is $10 for adults, $7 for youths 12 to 17, and free for age 11 and under. Parking is free. For more, visit online at