Starting Tuesday at Braemar Arena in Edina and lasting every Tuesday and Thursday night until the August 9-10 playoffs, a new 4-on-4 summer hockey league featuring NHL players and premier amateurs will take place. The championship will be played August 10 as players vie for the John Scott Cup.

Not kidding.

Dubbed the Da Beauty League, the league includes three games consecutively each night with the first game starting on most nights at 6 p.m. and the third game ending around 9:45. The games will consist of two 30-minute running halves.

Entry to the each night’s slate of games is $5 per person. Kids shorter than the picture of Dustin Byfuglien are allowed in for free. Season passes can be purchased for just $25.

Da Beauty League’s inaugural season features six teams sponsored by Velocity Hockey Center, Tradition Companies, Walser Automotive, Aspire Beverages, SportsDigita, and RBC Wealth Management.

The six Beauty League teams are led by captains Alex Goligoski, Ryan McDonagh, David Backes, Nick Bjugstad, Taylor Chorney and Brock Nelson.

Among the 35+ NHL Beauties playing are Zach Parise, Dustin Byfuglien, Nick Leddy, Anders Lee, Paul Martin and many more. Coaches include Keith Ballard, Erik Rasmussen, Ben Clymer, Mark Parrish, Brian Lawton, and Scott Bell.

Rosters can be seen here.

Those rosters are barring any in-season trades.

Again, I'm not kidding.

“I don’t know how my players are going to be this Winter, but this Summer they are going to be better than anyone else out on that ice.” said Ballard, coach of Velocity Hockey.

Da Beauty League will donate proceeds from games to various charities following the season including United Heroes League (formerly Defending The Blue Line).

Da Beauty League's new site is That's where fans can find rosters, stats, schedule, and more information regarding Da Beauty League.

On Twitter, it can be followed at @DaBeautyLeague.

Da Beauty League has tabbed John Scott as its first "very part-time honorary Commissioner." From the press release, "Scott is well known for his prowess as an NHL enforcer and recent NHL All Star MVP honor. Scott is a true beauty and the inspiration for Da Beauty League logo."

Older Post

Wild announces 2 development camp scrimmages open to public

Newer Post

Wild scrimmage update; Fletcher on assorted team business