Vikings defensive end Jared Allen was chosen for the All-Pro team and fell one vote short of being a unanimous selection.

Detroit receiver Calvin Johnson was also one short vote of being unanimous on the Associated Press team.

A nationwide panel of 50 voters chose the team, and Allen and Johnson were the leading vote-getters.

Aaron Rodgers was the quarterback, beating Drew Brees 47.5-2.5 in a lopsided balloting that might signal how the league's most valuable player balloting will fall.

Allen, also All-Pro from 2007-2009, told the AP: "The All-Pro Team to me is one of the all-time accomplishments. Pro Bowls are nice, but guys get voted in longer than they should and guys who deserve to go don't always get to. It's the whole league. It's not just an AFC and NFC thing. So to me this is the honor I hold the highest. It's something to put on the resume and tell the grandkids about."

The only rookie on the team was Arizona kick returner Patrick Peterson, who had four punt return TDs.

Jets cornerback Darrelle Revis had 48 votes and Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs had 47.

Other All-Pros on offense: Saints guards Carl Nicks and Jahri Evans; running backs Maurice Jones-Drew of Jacksonville and LeSean McCoy of Philadelphia; fullback Vonta Leach of Baltimore; Patriots tight end Rob Gronkowski and receiver Wes Welker; Pittsburgh center Maurkice Pouncey; and tackles Jason Peters of the Eagles and Joe Thomas of the Browns.

On defense joining Allen, Suggs and Revis are end Jason Pierre-Paul of the Giants; tackles Haloti Ngata of Baltimore and Justin Smith of the 49ers; linebackers Patrick Willis and NaVorro Bowman of San Francisco; linebackers DeMarcus Ware of Dallas and Derrick Johnson of the Chiefs; cornerback Charles Woodson of the Packers; and safeties Troy Polamalu of the Steelers and Eric Weddle of the Chargers.

The 49ers, who led the team with five players, also had kicker David Akers and punter Andy Lee on the team.

There are 16 NFC players and 12 AFC players on the team.



Older Post

Coaching shake-up: Spielman gets input, Frazier gets final decisions

Newer Post

Vikings fire defensive line coach Karl Dunbar