Teams: There are 20. The Eastern and Western conferences have 10 each.


Expansion: New York City FC and Orlando City SC began play this year.


Future expansion: Atlanta, Miami, Los Angeles and Minnesota by 2018.


The season: Play began in early March. The regular season ends on Oct. 25; the MLS Cup playoffs begin on Oct. 28.


Title game: The MLS Cup will be played in early December. Date and site to be determined.


Attendance: 19,147 average for 2014 regular season, 23,633 for playoffs.


TV: The MLS recently signed an eight-year deal with ESPN, Fox Sports and Univision.