Three Minnesota state colleges will be welcoming new presidents this summer.

The presidents, named Wednesday by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities board of trustees, are:

• Dorothy Duran, Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical. Duran has been vice president for academic affairs at Iowa Western Community College since 2006 and will succeed Jim Johnson, who is retiring after 19 years as president.

• Laura Urban, Alexandria Technical and Community College. Urban, who is now provost at Gateway Community and Technical College in Kentucky, will succeed Kevin Kopischke, who is retiring after 10 years as president.

• Barbara McDonald, who will be interim president of Minnesota West Community and Technical College. Now provost of Itasca Community College in Grand Rapids, she will serve a one-year appointment, succeeding Richard Shrubb, who is retiring.

All three are scheduled to take office on the same day: July 1.


Maura Lerner