The Lynx have history on their side tonight at Philips Arena in Atlanta, if not the crowd.

In the first 14 WNBA seasons, the team with the best record in the regular-season has won eight league titles -- pretty good percentage there -- and only lost in the Finals three times.

Since the WNBA went to a best-of-five format for the Finals in 2005, no team has come back from being down 0-2 to win the championship. Of course, only two have been in that position.

San Antonio was down 2-0 in 2008 to Detroit and got swept. And Atlanta trailed Seattle 2-0 last year and got swept by the Storm. That 2010 Finals series, though, was a nail-biter. The Storm won three games by a total of eight points.

The 2010 scores:

@ Seattle 79, Atlanta 77  ... Sue Bird scores game-winner with 2.6 seconds; Angel McCoughtry, one of four Dream in double figures, misses long three at buzzer ... Storm outscored Atlanta 20-14 in third quarter

@ Seattle 87, Atlanta 84 ... Storm finishes season 21-0 at home; Lauren Jackson scored 26 points for Storm for second game in a row ... Dream have four players in double figures again

Seattle 87, @ Atlanta 84 ... That's right, the exact score as Game 2 ... McCoughtry sets Finals record with 35 points, but misses three-pointer at buzzer as does teammate Coco Miller ... Seattle had 82-70 lead before Dream staged strong rally

Here is the 2011 Finals rundown so far:

@ Lynx 88, Atlanta 74 .. With score tied at 62, Lynx scored first 13 points of fourth quarter

@ Lynx 101, Atlanta 95 ... Augustus scores 36 points

@ Atlanta ??, Lynx ?? 


2005: Sacramento beats Connecticut 3-1 after series was tied 1-1

2006: Detroit beats Sacramento 3-2 after trailing 2-1

2007: Phoenix beats Detroit 3-2 after trailing 2-1

2008: Detroit sweeps San Antonio 3-0

2009: Phoenix beats Indiana after trailing 2-1

2010:  Seattle sweeps Atlanta 3-0

Comments: So in six best-of-five Finals there have been two sweeps and three comebacks from 2-1 deficits.