Rookie of the Year winner Andrew Wiggins was the only unanimous choice to make the NBA's five-man All Rookie first team in balloting announced today.

All 130 voters chose Wiggins to a first team that also includes Chicago's Nikola Mirotic, Philadelphia's Nerlens Noel, Orlando's Elfrid Payton and the L.A. Lakers Jordan Clarkson.

Wolves guard Zach LaVine made the second team, which also includes Boston's Marcus Smart, Brooklyn's Bojan Bogdanovich, Denver's Jusuf Nurkic and New York's Langston Galloway.

Twenty-two voters pick LaVine -- the NBA's All-Star weekend slam-dunk champion -- to their first team.

Mirotic got 128 first-team votes, Noel 125 and Payton 121.

A couple of other things, too:

* Condolences to Wolves coach/president of basketball operations Flip Saunders and his family. His father Walter died in Cleveland on Tuesday. Saunders was there early last week, attended the NBA draft combine's player interviews and workouts Wednesday through Friday morning and then returned to Cleveland.

* Saunders and Wolves owner Glen Taylor wanted to send Taylor's wife Becky to the stage for Tuesday night's draft lottery, but the NBA prefers to have Taylor -- its Board of Governors' chair -- center stage. We'll see tomorrow night who won out.

Older Post

Zgoda: Combine counts down six weeks to NBA draft

Newer Post

Wiggins, LaVine win NBA rookie team honors