Revised immigration order

What's new

• The ban is not immediate, it goes into effect March 16.

• Iraq removed from the list of banned countries.

• Current visa holders no longer affected.

• Syrian refugees barred temporarily — not indefinitely — and refugees of minority religions no longer favored.

• Refugees already granted asylum will be allowed.

• References to support for the Constitution and other beliefs removed.

Who's barred

• People from six countries — Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen — without current visas.

• People from the six countries newly arriving on immigrant visas.

• Refugees are banned for 120 days.

Who's allowed

• Green-card holders and special immigrants from the targeted countries.

• U.S. citizens, dual nationals and diplomats.

New York Times