The Vikings have begun the process of trimming their roster from 90 players to 53 in advance of Saturday’s cutdown deadline. Their first set of cuts on Friday afternoon included three of their former draft picks.

Below is the full list of 25 moves reported by the Star Tribune. The Vikings will need to clear nine more spots after the expected moves of receiver Michael Floyd to the suspended list, quarterback Teddy Bridgewater to the reserve/PUP list and defensive tackle Sharrif Floyd to the reserve/NFI list.

The Vikings kicker will be Kai Forbath after Marshall Koehn was informed of his release on Saturday morning, according to a NFL source. Koehn missed his only attempt, an extra point, in Thursday’s preseason finale.

Quarterbacks Taylor Heinicke and Mitch Leidner were let go as well, according to NFL sources. Heinicke was waived/injured, meaning he’ll revert to injured reserve if he clears waivers. The third-year quarterback suffered a concussion Thursday night vs. the Dolphins and also has been dealing with an oblique strain.

Offensive lineman T.J. Clemmings was released on Friday afternoon, a NFL source confirmed. Cornerback Jabari Price also announced on Twitter he would be released, after getting beat for a pair of long completions in Thursday’s preseason finale against the Dolphins.

Clemmings’ departure seemed imminent, though the news of it will resonate with Vikings fans who watched the former fourth-rounder struggle in two stints at right and left tackle. Phil Loadholt’s torn Achilles pressed Clemmings into action his entire rookie year, and after the Vikings planned to go into 2016 with Clemmings as a swing tackle, injuries put him in the lineup for 14 games last year, first at right and then at left tackle.

Price, a seventh-round pick in the 2014 draft, had an impressive camp his rookie year, and played 14 games that season, before a DWI arrest at the end of the 2014 season led to a two-game suspension in 2015. He was eventually placed on injured reserve with a shoulder issue in 2015, and went on IR with a knee injury in 2016.

A handful of defensive linemen were also among the cuts. Veteran defensive tackle Will Sutton, formerly of the Bears, was notified of his release on Friday afternoon, according to a NFL source. Defensive tackle Chunky Clements and defensive end Sam McCaskill were waived, per NFL sources.

The Vikings also waived receiver Moritz Bohringer, offensive lineman Freddie Tagaloa,  offensive lineman Reid Fragel, receiver Isaac Fruechte, tight end Josiah Price, tight end Nick Truesdell, running back Terrell Newby, cornerback Tre Roberson, linebacker Noor Davis and cornerback Sam Brown, according to NFL sources.

Bohringer, a 2016 sixth-round pick, is not considered a candidate for the practice squad, the source said, so the German experiment has ended in Minnesota.

The Vikings waived seventh-round linebacker Elijah Lee, according to a NFL source. The team wants Lee back onto the practice squad, but he’ll have to clear waivers first.

Running cut list: (Check back for updates)

QB Mitch Leidner
QB Taylor Heinicke
K Marshall Koehn
G Alex Boone
OL T.J. Clemmings
OL Freddie Tagaloa
OL Reid Fragel
OL Zac Kerin
WR Moritz Bohringer
WR Isaac Fruechte
TE Josiah Price
TE Nick Truesdell
RB Terrell Newby
RB Bronson Hill
DT Will Sutton
DT Chunky Clements
DE Sam McCaskill
DE Ifeadi Odenigbo
LB Elijah Lee
LB Noor Davis
CB Jack Tocho
CB Jabari Price
CB Tre Roberson
CB Sam Brown

To injured reserve:

DT Datone Jones (shoulder)
WR R.J. Shelton (foot)

Defensive tackle Datone Jones, whom the Vikings gave a $1.6 million signing bonus on a one-year free agent deal, will be placed on injured reserve with a shoulder injury, per NFL Media. Jones had an uphill climb to make the roster if healthy, anyway.

Receiver R.J. Shelton is headed to injured reserve after breaking his foot in the preseason, according to a NFL source.

Older Post

Ex-Gophers QB Mitch Leidner among Vikings roster cuts

Newer Post

Vikings release Alex Boone among final roster cuts