If the Vikings draft a future Hall of Fame player with the 30th overall pick, he’ll be just the second taken there since at least 1970. Below we’ve compiled a list including the last five decades of NFL players picked at No. 30.

The list includes former Colts receiver Reggie Wayne, who is a likely Hall of Famer eligible for the first time in 2020. Wayne, taken 30th overall in 2001, still ranks 10th on the all-time receiving list.

The Vikings last held the 30th pick after the 2009 season. Rick Spielman and Brad Childress dealt the pick to the Lions, who selected running back Jahvid Best. An offensive lineman, seemingly atop the Vikings’ draft wish list, hasn’t been selected 30th since guard Kendall Simmons by Pittsburgh in 2002.

LB T.J. Watt
(Pittsburgh Steelers, 2017), DT Vernon Butler (Carolina Panthers, 2016), S Damarious Randall (Green Bay Packers, 2015), DB Jimmie Ward (San Francisco 49ers, 2014), LB Alec Ogletree (St. Louis Rams, 2013),  WR A.J. Jenkins (San Francisco 49ers, 2012), DL Muhammad Wilkerson (New York Jets, 2011), RB Jahvid Best (Detroit Lions from Minnesota, 2010)

WR Kenny Britt
(Tennessee Titans, 2009), TE Dustin Keller (New York Jets from Green Bay, 2008), WR Craig Davis (San Diego Chargers, 2007), RB Joseph Addai (Indianapolis Colts, 2006), TE Heath Miller (Pittsburgh Steelers, 2005), RB Kevin Jones (Detroit Lions from Kansas City, 2004),  CB Sammy Davis (San Diego Chargers from Philadelphia, 2003) G Kendall Simmons (Pittsburgh Steelers, 2002), WR Reggie Wayne (Indianapolis Colts, 2001), LB Keith Bulluck (Tennessee Titans, 2000)

DE Patrick Kerney (Atlanta Falcons, 1999), WR Marcus Nash (Denver Broncos, 1998), OT Ross Verba (Green Bay Packers, 1997), OT Andre Johnson (Washington Redskins, 1996), LB Craig Powell (Cleveland Browns, 1995), WR Darnay Scott (Cincinnati Bengals, 1994, second round), CB Carlton Gray (Seattle Seahawks, 1993),  CB Steve Israel (St. Louis Rams, 1992), TE Reggie Johnson (Denver Broncos, 1991), RB Reggie Cobb (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 1990)

WR John Ford (Detroit Lions, 1989), CB Eric Allen (Philadelphia Eagles, 1988), CB Brian Davis (Washington Redskins, 1987), DE Markus Koch (Washington Redskins, 1986), CB Issiac Holt (Minnesota Vikings, 1985), LB Keith Browner (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 1984), OT Harvey Salem (Houston Oilers, 1983), G Brad Edelman (New Orleans Saints, 1982),  RB Marion Barber, Jr. (New York Jets, 1981), CB Willie Teal (Minnesota Vikings, 1980)

TE Dan Ross (Cincinnati Bengals, 1979), RB Johnny Davis (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 1978), OT Tom Lynch (Seattle Seahawks, 1977), RB Jimmy DuBose (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 1976), DT Louis Kelcher (San Diego Chargers, 1975), G Steve Corbett (New England Patriots, 1974), RB Greg Pruitt (Cleveland Browns, 1973), RB Jim Bertelsen (Los Angeles Rams, 1972), C Dave Thompson (Detroit Lions, 1971), QB Dennis Shaw (Buffalo Bills, 1970)

Older Post

Drafting a cornerback early? Vikings could do it again

Newer Post

Vikings WR Diggs is a bargain, but not for long