Read more of this blog at


The White House recognized two Minnesota teachers with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Leif Carlson, of Minneapolis’ Jefferson Community School, and Peter Bohacek, of Mendota Heights’ Henry Sibley High School, were among 108 teachers that will each receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation and will meet with members of the president’s administration.

The award is given to math and science teachers selected by a panel of scientists, mathematicians and educators, after a state-level selection process.

“These teachers are shaping America’s success through their passion for math and science,” President Obama said in a news release.