The Big Ten announced its offensive all-conference teams on Wednesday, and three Gophers received honorable mention honors.

Junior offensive tackle Donnell Greene, junior running back Rodney Smith and sophomore wide receiver Tyler Johnson were named honorable mention by the media, while Smith and Johnson were named honorable mention by the coaches.

Smith led the Gophers with 977 rushing yards on 229 carries. He also was Minnesota’s second-leading receiver with 17 catches for 107 yards, and had 363 yards in kickoff returns, giving him 1,447 all-purpose yards.

Johnson led the Gophers with 35 receptions for 677 yards and seven touchdowns. He missed the final two games of the season because of a broken hand.

On Tuesday, linebacker Thomas Barber earned third-team honors from conference media members, while defensive end Carter Coughlin, defensive tackle Steven Richardson, kicker Emmit Carpenter and punter Ryan Santoso received honorable mention status. Those five also were honorable mention selections by the coaches.

The Big Ten will announce its individual award honorees on Thursday.

Older Post

Little-used receiver Holland to transfer from U for final year of football

Newer Post

Gophers linebacker Waters becomes fifth player to say he'll transfer