After a long and expansive process, TakeAction Minnesota chose to back three DFLers' bids for governor -- Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak, state Rep. Paul Thissen and state House Speaker Margaret Anderson Kelliher.

TakeAction is dealing with the governor's race differently this year with a campaign it is calling reNEW Minnesota campaign. Read more about the campaign here.

"TakeAction Minnesota plans to use its organizational muscle to influence the outcome of the State Convention, as well as the summer primary election, on behalf of the most viable of the three preferred candidates," the organization said in announcing its backing of the three candidates.

TakeAction's reNew Minnesota campaign said the three "most boldly embraced a progressive vision for Minnesota; have a solid plan to win the November election; will work with TakeAction Minnesota once elected to implement the vision; inspires people to give time and money to help get them elected."

The three DFLers were the top vote getters but  the fourth place winner wasn't far behind. Here are the votes each got from TakeAction members:

  •   R.T. Rybak  336 votes
  •   Paul Thissen   264 votes
  •   Margaret Anderson-Kelliher  261 votes
  •   John Marty  250 votes
  •   Mark Dayton  138 votes
  •   Matt Entenza  105 votes
  •   Steve Kelley  104 votes
  •   Tom Rukavina  92 votes
  •   Tom Bakk  48 votes
  •   Susan Gaertner  46 votes