New Orleans and Miami have played host to more Super Bowls than any other city. Each city has held the big game 10 times. Atlanta will host next season's Super Bowl. It has hosted twice before (1994 and 2000).

New England failed to become the second franchise to win six Super Bowls. Pittsburgh is the only team to win six titles. The Patriots, Dallas and San Francisco have all won five. Green Bay and the New York Giants each have four.

The 22-inch Lombardi Trophy is named after former Packers coach Vince Lombardi. It is made by Tiffany & Co. and costs $50,000 — though the raw materials, 7 pounds of sterling silver, are only worth about $2,000.

Quarterbacks have won 54 percent (28 of 52) of the Super Bowl MVP awards. The award has gone to a defensive player just nine times. Co-MVPs were awarded in 1978, when Harvey Martin and Randy White shared the award.

There have only been two back-to-back MVP winners: QBs Bart Starr and Terry Bradshaw. Dallas linebacker Chuck Howley is the only player in Super Bowl history to lose the game yet still be named the game's MVP.

Giants quarterback Phil Simms was the first to say "I'm going to Disney World" after being named Super Bowl MVP. He uttered the phrase in January 1987 after being approached by Disney before the Super Bowl.